Bus blind JOY

January 4, 2011

Just got to show you this…because various friends and family members don’t seem to be very excited about it. But I know YOU will understand! I’ve been hankering after a vintage London bus blind for years now. I can’t help thinking they’re ridiculously expensive in most shops, but after many a desperate ‘google’ search, I finally tracked down a lovely one on good old eBay. It wasn’t listed very clearly (crucially, the words ‘vintage’ and ‘bus’ were not in the title! Durrrrr) so it didn’t receive many bids…and we got it for twenty quid in the end. It was three metres long, so we trimmed off the best three sections and hung them in an alcove:

I know it’s shallow. But this makes me SO HAPPY. And, weirdly, it lists all of the London areas we’ve lived in, in order. ‘Twas obviously meant to be… – Ellie

12 Responses to “Bus blind JOY”

  1. Elissa c Says:

    That’s fantastic. It looks great. I don’t like those fake bus scrolls that don’t even list real bus routes (there are a lot of them for sale in Australia).

  2. Ruth Bonser Says:

    Nice hunting Ellie! The 137 was my school bus route so is very dear to me (sad but true – I think of certain bus routes like old friends)

  3. Anna Says:

    Looks fab, very envious. Boyfriend will kill me if I acquire more vintage tat so I have to settle for sneaking in plates acquired from charity shops.

  4. Lisa Cooney Says:

    Love it, much nicer than the newer versions you get!

  5. Helen Says:

    Wow! They are absolutely gorgeous. I wonder which destinations were on the bits that you cut off? I’m trying to get hold of a ‘Chelsea: World’s End’ blind.

    Would you care to share the magic search query which found you such a bargain?

  6. Lydia Says:

    I’m so jealous! Excellent Ebay hunting and it is definitely something to get excited about. x

  7. Heidi Says:

    Score! What a find. Have seen them for sale here and there with mega price-tags – well done 😀

  8. lisa Says:

    I have always admired these, but like you was alarmed by the price tag! I’m a streatham hill girl… so would love to find a similar one!

  9. karen cheung Says:

    How great, finding something like that! I thought I’d comment because I recently made exactly the same kind of find – a London bus blind, of the really old type, with places that I’d also lived in in London! All for a tenner too 🙂 See my post here:

    http://alternativeeagle.blogspot.com/2010/10/score-london-bus-blinds.html

  10. Hilary Says:

    Just Google London Bus Blinds and you’ll find loads! I got mine beautifully framed from (no surprise after that search) http://www.londonbusblinds.com not as cheap as yours though but they couldn’t do enough to help and the blind and framing is superb!

  11. Jayne Lloyd Says:

    I got one from British Bus Blinds, they were excellent, nice and friendly to deal with and not over-expensive. Very happy.

    http://www.britishbusblinds.com


Leave a comment