Ceramics to make you smile

June 18, 2009

These cute retro ceramics from Netherlands-based Etsy seller Ninainvorm are topping the Ideal Home wish list today. Nina produces stunning hand-shaped screen-printed ceramics, screenprints and collages, as well as some vintage ‘redecorated’ ceramics – pretty china pieces that she applies her hand-made screenprints to.

il_fullxfull.50176964

il_fullxfull.57703310

il_fullxfull.62983404

Nina is now up there with Lou Rota and friends in my ‘cutest ceramics’ brigade. And how sweet is her ‘Dear Pear’ collage? It would be a lovely piece of wall art for a child’s bedroom.

il_fullxfull.66701014

il_fullxfull.74821650

il_fullxfull.75678549

Thinking about decals on vintage ceramics…I’ve just written a feature for Ideal Home about the amazing A4/A3 sized fabric papers available from Crafty Computer Paper. The sheets go through a normal inkjet printer so you can print any digital image you like on to fabric – just wait for the ink to dry before peeling the backing off, like a sticker, and you’re left with washable, printed fabric. I saw lovely vintage-style cushions from Rosie’s Armoire at the Country Living Fair a few months back, which were made with these sheets. ANYWAY, Crafty Computer Paper also sells decal paper, designed to transfer images easily to ceramics and candles etc, so I’ve ordered some and I’m going to have a bash at updating some vintage tea plates next weekend! – Ellie

il_fullxfull.75009141

2 Responses to “Ceramics to make you smile”


  1. I see so many things I like but I’m not always inspired to put my hands in my pocket – but I think I have to get one of those plates. I have been collecting plates for a plate wall but one of two of these would stop it looking quite so grannyish…


  2. Update: I bought one. And I love your idea of the decal paper. I must add that to the list of things I’ll never get around to.


Leave a comment